Commanders,
Another Mission #2 is in the proverbial bug trap. Mother Miriam's Witch Hunter Inquisition took a serious beating... err... chewing from the relentless Tyranid horde of The Ancient Hungerer. Despite heavy casualties, the Sisters of Battle rallied behind the metallic skirts of the Dominion Squad, and squeezed out a Draw at the end of the game by destroying the only Nemesis scoring unit within range of their Home Objective.
Everyone help me congratulate The Ancient Hungerer and Mother Miriam on their game well played.
Here is your final score:
Hive Fleet Nemesis
Home Objective Secured: Yes
Enemy Objective Captured: No
Casualty Points: 404
Witch Hunter Inquisition
Home Objective Secured: Yes
Enemy Objective Captured: No
Casualty Points: 284
Victor: Draw
Sunday, March 29, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
7 comments:
Good job Keith! Kept the mission in mind and snatched victory away from me.
Man, it was close... if you had assaulted on your turn 5, I think you would have been close enough to contest my objective. Which would have given you the win. It would have been close though.
I really blew this game.
I seem to do that a lot. :)
Actually he would have had to destroy you completely in combination of shooting and hand-to-hand, or forced you off the board to seal a victory since his Warrior squad was not a scoring unit.
Regardless, it was very close at the end.
Good job guys.
Correct. Except that is not what I was talking about. :)
There were two portions to the mission. Two take your enemies objective (which as you pointed out, would have required he completely wipe me out since his unit #1 wasn't a scoring unit and couldn't claim an objective).
However, there was a second part of the mission:
while securing their own Building (keeping ALL enemy units more than 3” away)
For this portion he didn't need Troops.
If he had assaulted, I think he would have had a good chance (hard to tell from the map for sure, but I think it was a good chance) of either wiping me out totally which would have resulted in a complete win for him... and if after two rounds of assault (his and mine) his unit was still there, he would have won. He would have controlled his and I wouldn't have control of mine. A win.
HOWEVER... it would have been risky in that if he assaulted and DIDN'T survive (possible, since my sisters were in 3+ armor and had a power weapon available) it would have still ended up a draw with me having a lot more casualty points.
Who knows. :)
Good game Bill. Nids are tough to crack.
But if you do, the best meat is in the claws.
That's what I'm saying. Having a non-scoring unit threatening (3" away) your opponent's objective at best will secure a Draw. See my notes (http://v-4-b.blogspot.com/2009/03/mission-2-clarification.html).
The Dark Knight vs. Space Wolf game is a perfect example. Josh's Elite squad is contesting the Dark Knight Objective, but cannot hold it since they are not a scoring unit (Troop choice).
Now, had they been a scoring unit, Josh would be winning, because his home objective is secured and he would have Captured his opponents objective.
You are missing the relevance... from the very same post you say
"You need ONLY to keep your opponents units (any type) more than 3" away from it."
I understand that Bill couldn't have claimed it...
But he could have kept *ME* from claiming my own objective.
there are multiple variations of the mission results, but some are:
total anihilation: one side is wiped out - objectives don't matter
draw: you each control your own objective but not your enemies -OR- you each control no objectives (both objectives contested)
(partial) win: You control one objective but your opponent controls none. (This is what Bill might have accomplished... he had his objective, and by your rule, ANY unit within 3" of mine keeps me from claiming mine)
win: you control both your and your opponents objective.
Does that make more sense? I know that Bill could not have controlled my objective... but he didn't NEED to... all he needed to do was deny it to me. that would have left him with 1 and me with 0. that's a win.
:)
Nope, that's not how it works. :) I think you are still misunderstanding the victory conditions.
Think of the victory conditions as a light bulb that only comes on if two switches (conditions) are turned to the ON position.
Switch #1 (your objective): Is only ON if no Enemy units are within 3" of the switch (objective).
Switch #2 (opponents objective): Is only ON if you have a scoring unit within 3" of the switch (objective).
Both of the above conditions must be met for the light to come on (victory condition).
These are standard 5th Ed objective controlling conditions.
The only exception to this is if you totally annihilate your opponent (Wipeout! pg. 90).
~GM
Post a Comment